NVQs are work based awards in England, Wales and Northern Ireland that are achieved through assessment and training.

To achieve an NVQ, candidates must prove that they have the ability (competence) to carry out their job to the required standard. NVQs are based on National Occupational Standards that describe the 'competencies' expected in any given job role. Typically, candidates will work towards an NVQ that reflects their role in a paid or voluntary position. For example someone working in an admin office role may take an NVQ in Business and Administration.

There are five levels of NVQ ranging from Level 1, which focuses on basic work activities, to Level 5 for senior management. 

  • Customer Service
  • Team Leading
  • Leadership and Management
  • IT Qualification
  • Business and Administration 

If you are interested in taking an NVQ, please discuss this with your line manager.  For more information please contact Ann Woodland or Jackie Hammond on extension 2031.  We will then research which colleges can provide the relevant qualification.